Overblog Follow this blog
Edit post Administration Create my blog
October 25 2015 1 25 /10 /October /2015 14:57

Sunderland 3-0 Newcastle: Adam Johnson’s first half penalty gave Sunderland their 6th consecutive win over Newcastle and their first win in 13 Premier League matches.

Sunderland now move off the bottom of the table and leapfrog Newcastle to be just 2 points from safety after this victory.

Steve McClaren’s 200th Premier League game as a manager did not end well after a first half red card for his side.

Newcastle had the better of the early opportunities in the game when ex-Sunderland man Jack Colback shot forced Constel Pantilimon into a save.

Just before the stroke of half time Fabricio Coloccini pushed Steven Fletcher over in the box, which earned him a red.

Adam Johnson then scored the penalty down to Rob Elliot’s left where the ball was tucked right into the corner and gave the black cats the lead.

The best chance for Newcastle in the second half came through Aleksandar Mitrovic when the ball fell to him but Pantilimon came out quick to make a great save.

Billy Jones scored the second goal, and his first of the season, after Yann M’Vila’s volley towards goal was prodded home by the full back.

Georginio Wijnaldum forced Pantilimon into a low save as the Magpies tried to work a way back into the game.

Johnson then hit the bar with a rifling left footed shot after he cut inside just outside the area and beat Elliot only to be denied by the crossbar.

Steven Fletcher finished the game with his third of the season after a delightful cross from Younes Kaboul lays it on for Fletcher to volley home and give them the three points.


1 Costel Pantilimon

24 DeAndre Yedlin

16 John O’Shea (Coates 37’)

15 Younes Kaboul

2 Billy Jones

6 Lee Cattermole

21 Yann M’Vila

17 Jeremain Lens (Larsson 82’)

20 Ola Toivonen (Defoe 36’)

11 Adam Johnson

26 Steven Fletcher


25 Vito Mannone

22 Sebastian Coates

3 Patrick van Aanholt

41 Duncan Watmore

7 Sebastian Larsson

14 Jordi Gomez

18 Jermaine Defoe


21 Rob Elliot

22 Daryl Janmaat

18 Chancel Mbemba

2 Fabricio Coloccini

3 Paul Dummett (Thauvin 78’)

7 Moussa Sissoko

24 Cheick Tiote (Lascelles 45’)

4 Jack Colback (Anita 49’)

5 Georginio Wijnaldum

17 Ayoze Perez

45 Aleksandar Mitrovic


41 Freddie Woodman

15 Jamaal Lascelles

19 Massadio Haidara

8 Vurnon Anita

20 Florian Thauvin

19 Siem De Jong

9 Papiss Cisse

Referee: Robert Madley

Share this post

Repost 0
Published by calumsportsblog
write a comment



  • : calumsportsblog's name
  • calumsportsblog's name
  • : Its all about Football (and other sports sometimes)
  • Contact